The American soul-influenced funk group Cameo released their first album in 1977, but it took almost 10 years before they finally hit the world stage by releasing Word Up! The single by the same name became a massive worldwide hit. During the years they released several successful albums and songs, now finally brought together on the Cameo Collected 2LP.


Cameo started out with 14 members as the New York City Players in 1974. The first years they were known for their deep funk sound, but soon their songs were played all over the dancefloor. Their first hits "I Just Want To Be" and "Find My Way" also made it to the dance charts. More than 10 years after their formation they reached the top of their popularity by releasing singles such as “Candy”, "Back and Forth", and their biggest hit “Word Up!”. They were always ahead of their time and influenced the younger generation of Hip-Hop and R&B acts. Their presence continued to be felt in the 2000s. In 2019 they returned to the stage by releasing their first single in 19 years, "El Passo".


Cameo Collected is available as a limited first pressing of 1000 individually numbered copies on “codpiece” red vinyl.


    1. Find My Way
    2. Rigor Mortis
    3. Funk Funk
    4. Insane
    5. I Just Want To Be
    6. Sparkle
    7. We're Goin' Out Tonight    
    8. Shake Your Pants
    9. Keep It Hot
    10. Freaky Dancin'
    11. Just Be Yourself
    12. Flirt
    13. Style
    14. She's Strange
    15. Talkin' Out The Side Of Your Neck
    16. Attack Me With Your Love
    17. Single Life
    18. Word Up!
    19. Candy    
    20. Back And Forth
    21. She's Mine
    22. You Make Me Work
    23. Skin I'm In
    24. I Want It Now
    25. Money
Contact Us:

Rival Records Limited,

43 Bridge Street



EX20 3HZ

Send Us a Message
  • White Twitter Icon
  • googlemybusiness
  • White Facebook Icon

Registered Office: Rival Records Ltd, 3 Spennithorne Drive, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS16 6HT

Company Registration No: 8462961     Registered in England and Wales