Colossal swells erupt from a vast ocean of human suffering and universal dread and in their wake present to us the latest offering from the minds of CARNIFEX: WORLD WAR X. Soul darkening, eye-bloodying, flesh crushing death metal is to be expected from this group of musicians, yet with the new album comes a unique notion of unavoidable hopelessness; the inevitable rot of mankind.San Diego quintet CARNIFEX have stoked the coals and breathed a distinct power into WORLD WAR X that boils over into subjects and sounds of human degradation.


Still scorching from the release of “Slow Death” in 2016, CARNIFEX never really stopped their writing process but rather developed one element, and continued to flow into another to create a natural path between “Slow Death” and “World War X.” Although not a concept album as it would normally be defined, “World War X” is conceptually rounded in a manner which displays a distinguished theme. Through the lens of war can be viewed subjects CARNIFEX fans will be familiar with; individual struggles, and internalized challenges that can feel akin to a deadly battle.


Nine blistering tracks are contained within WORLD WAR X and each song is compiled of multiple menacing layers which are substantially longer than previous CARNIFEX songs. There is a noticeable gain in the complexity of song structure as they deliver you further into an audio-sensory sojourn.The album was once again recorded by Jason Suecof of Audiohammer Studios at the helm of tracking and mixing (Death Angel, Job For A Cowboy, The Black Dahlia Murder), and was mastered by Ted Jensen of Sterling Sound (Deftones, Pantera, As I Lay Dying).


“No Light Shall Save Us” featuring Alissa White-Gluz will also accompany a music video (Directed by Scott Hansen) upon its release. Exemplifying the album as a whole, and containing the majority of the album’s elements in one song, “No Light Shall Save Us” was written not long after the conclusion of the “Slow Death” album cycle. “We really wanted to feature a guest female vocalist. Alissa not only has an extremely strong, recognizable voice, but a vast range of clean and melodic singing, too.” Another track entitled “All Roads Lead To Hell” includes guest guitar solos by solo artist Angel Vivaldi.


As usual, CARNIFEX has taken the poisons of this world and translated them into a powerhouse of extreme musical artistry that will in every way gratify their fans and live audiences.


    1. World War X
    2. Visions Of The End
    3. This Infernal Darkness
    4. Eyes Of The Executioner
    5. No Light Shall Save Us (feat Alissa White-Gluz)
    6. All Roads Lead To Hell (feat Angel Vivaldi)
    7. Brushed By The Wings Of Demons
    8. Hail Hellfire
    9. By Shadows Thine Held
Contact Us:

Rival Records Limited,

43 Bridge Street



EX20 3HZ

Send Us a Message
  • White Twitter Icon
  • googlemybusiness
  • White Facebook Icon

Registered Office: Rival Records Ltd, 3 Spennithorne Drive, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS16 6HT

Company Registration No: 8462961     Registered in England and Wales