In 2006 Columbia/Legacy released a number of recordings that had been found amongst Johnny Cash's most private and valuable of his possessions. They dubbed it the Personal File, after what Cash had written on the white cardboard boxes that had kept these recordings safe over the years. This triple album encompassed recordings Cash had made between 1973 and 1982 in his cabin studio, and were a precursor to his famed American Recordings; these are intimate sessions of a man and his guitar, singing songs and telling stories about them.


Re-issued as The Bootleg Series and collected as a 3LP set, we're releasing this first volume of recordings on 180-gram audiophile vinyl. Available as a limited edition of 1500 individually numbered copies on transparent vinyl  Including a 16-page booklet with artwork & liner notes.


    1. The Letter Edged In Black
    2. There's A Mother Always Waiting At Home
    3. The Engineer's Dying Child
    4. My Mother Was A Lady
    5. The Winding Stream
    6. Far Away Places
    7. Galway Bay
    8. When I Stop Dreaming    
    9. Drink To Me Only With Thine Eyes
    10. I'll Take You Home Again Kathleen
    11. Missouri Waltz
    12. Louisiana Man
    13. Paradise
    14. I Don't Believe You Wanted To Leave
    15. Jim, I Wore A Tie Today
    16. Saginaw, Michigan
    17. When It's Springtime In Alaska It's Forty Below
    18. Girl In Saskatoon
    19. The Cremation Of Sam Mcgee
    20. Tiger Whitehead
    21. It's All Over
    22. A Fast Song
    23. Virgie
    24. I Wanted So
    25. It Takes One To Know Me    
    26. Seal It In My Heart And Mind
    27. Wildwood In The Pines
    28. Who At My Door Is Standing
    29. Have Thine Own Way Lord
    30. Lights Of Magdala
    31. If Jesus Ever Loved A Woman
    32. The Lily Of The Valley
    33. Have A Drink Of Water
    34. The Way Worn Traveler
    35. Look Unto The East
    36. Matthew
    37. The House Is Falling Down
    38. One Of These Days I'm Gonna Sit Down
    39. What On Earth Will You Do For Heaven's Sake
    40. My Children Walk In The Truth
    41. No Earthly Good    
    42. Sanctified
    43. Lord, Lord, Lord
    44. What Is Man
    45. Over The Next Hill We'll Be Home
    46. A Half A Mile A Day
    47. Farther Along
    48. Life's Railway To Heaven
    49. In The Sweet Bye And Bye
Contact Us:

Rival Records Limited,

43 Bridge Street



EX20 3HZ

Send Us a Message
  • White Twitter Icon
  • googlemybusiness
  • White Facebook Icon

Registered Office: Rival Records Ltd, 3 Spennithorne Drive, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS16 6HT

Company Registration No: 8462961     Registered in England and Wales