In 2006 Columbia/Legacy released a number of recordings that had been found amongst Johnny Cash's most private and valuable possessions. They dubbed the album The Personal Files, after what Cash had written on the cardboard boxes that had kept these recordings safe over the years. Now a second volume has been added to this Bootleg Series; From Memphis To Hollywood. For this volume producer Greg Geller focuses on Cash's early Sun years (1954 to 1957) and his Columbia years from 1958 to 1969. This collection puts Cash's music in a historical perspective: Side A is a 15-minute recording of a live radio broadcast for KWEM on May 21, 1955, the same month Cash recorded his Sun hit "Cry, Cry, Cry". The B-side is filled with 12 early pre-Sun demos, 11 of which are previously unreleased. The C-side contains 7 outtakes produced by Sam Phillips and Jack Clement, as well as 2 final demos. The rest of the compilation comprises a fresh collection of non-album singles and B-sides from Cash's first 11 years at Columbia, and concludes with "Come Along And Ride This Train", theme song of The Johnny Cash Show on ABC.


From Memphis To Hollywood is available as a limited edition of 1500 individually numbered copies on transparent vinyl. This 3LP-set is accompanied by a 24-page booklet with artwork & liner notes by Ashley Kahn.


    1. Kwem Announcements And Advertisements
    2. Johnny Cash Show Intro And Theme
    3. Wide Open Road
    4. Home Equipment Company Advertisement
    5. One More Ride
    6. Home Equipment Company Advertisement / Luther Perkins Intro
    7. Luther's Boogie
    8. Belshazzar Intro
    9. Belshazzar
    10. Losing Comments And Theme
    11. Overton Park Shell Country Music Jamboree Advertisement By Texas Bill Strength    
    12. I Walk The Line (Early Demo)
    13. Get Rhythm (Early Demo)
    14. Train Of Love (Early Demo)
    15. Country Boy (Early Demo)
    16. My Treasure (Early Demo)
    17. Belshazzar (Early Demo)
    18. He'll Be A Friend (Early Demo)
    19. When I Think Of You (Early Demo)
    20. I Just Don't Care Enough (To Carry On) (Early Demo)
    21. I'll Cry For You (Early Demo)
    22. You're My Baby (Early Demo)
    23. Rock And Roll Ruby (Early Demo)
    24. Wide Open Road
    25. Leave That Junk Alone
    26. Brakeman's Blues (Incomplete)
    27. Big River
    28. I Couldn't Keep From Crying
    29. New Mexico
    30. Goodnight Irene
    31. Restless Kid (Demo)
    32. It's All Over (Demo)    
    33. All Over Again
    34. You Dreamer You
    35. I'll Remember You
    36. Johnny Yuma Theme
    37. Five Minutes To Live
    38. The Losing Kind
    39. Locomotive Man (Single Version)
    40. Girl In Saskatoon (Single Version)
    41. There's A Mother Always Waiting
    42. Johnny Reb
    43. The Shifting, Whispering Sands Part II
    44. Send A Picture Of Mother
    45. Hardin Wouldn't Run (Demo)
    46. Thunderball
    47. One Too Many Mornings
    48. The Frozen Logger
    49. Foolish Questions    
    50. Bottom Of The Mountain
    51. Put The Sugar To Bed (Single Version)
    52. You Beat All I Ever Saw (Single Version)
    53. On The Line
    54. Roll Call (Single Version)
    55. The Folk Singer
    56. Six White Horses (Demo)
    57. Come Along And Ride This Train (Demo) 
Contact Us:

Rival Records Limited,

43 Bridge Street



EX20 3HZ

Send Us a Message
  • White Twitter Icon
  • googlemybusiness
  • White Facebook Icon

Registered Office: Rival Records Ltd, 3 Spennithorne Drive, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS16 6HT

Company Registration No: 8462961     Registered in England and Wales