After 2004’s critically acclaimed Blue Cathedral one might have expected Comets On Fire to blast off into the cosmos. It was a surprise, then, when they turned in an earthy, more accessible and downright beautiful album in this follow-up.


On Avatar Comets display development in every direction - as musicians, as songwriters, as arrangers and as singers - without sacrificing one ounce of their token intensity. From swinging, bluesy explorations to piano-laced, progressive power balladry and pure tribalism, it evokes everyone from the Allmans, Quicksilver and Procol Harum to a hybrid of Fela Kuti, Sun Ra and Crazy Horse.


    1. Dogwood Rust
    2. Jaybird
    3. Lucifer’s Memory
    4. The Swallow’s Eye
    5. Holy Teeth
    6. Sour Smoke
    7. Hatched Upon The Age
Contact Us:

Rival Records Limited,

43 Bridge Street



EX20 3HZ

Send Us a Message
  • White Twitter Icon
  • googlemybusiness
  • White Facebook Icon

Registered Office: Rival Records Ltd, 3 Spennithorne Drive, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS16 6HT

Company Registration No: 8462961     Registered in England and Wales