Richard Dawson, the black-humoured bard of Newcastle, returns to release his sixth solo album ‘2020’, his first since the critically acclaimed, ‘Peasant’.‘2020’ is an utterly contemporary state-of-the-nation study, that uncovers a tumultuous and bleak time. 


Having released the album ‘Mogic’ with his band Hen Ogledd (‘the Old North’) in 2018, Dawson decamped to Blank Studio, Newcastle with Sam Grant of Pigs, Pigs, Pigs, Pigs, Pigs, Pigs, Pigs and recorded all the instrumentation for 2020 himself. Nuanced and challenging, the ten songs also conversely feature Dawson’s most melodic moments yet. 


Double vinyl with printed innersleeves and digital download card.


    1. Civil Servant
    2. The Queen’s Head
    3. Two Halves
    4. Jogging
    5. Heart Emoji
    6. Black Triangle
    7. Fulfilment Centre
    8. Fresher’s Ball
    9. No-One
    10. Dead Dog in an Alleyway
Contact Us:

Rival Records Limited,

43 Bridge Street



EX20 3HZ

Send Us a Message
  • White Twitter Icon
  • googlemybusiness
  • White Facebook Icon

Registered Office: Rival Records Ltd, 3 Spennithorne Drive, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS16 6HT

Company Registration No: 8462961     Registered in England and Wales