When he stepped onto the Austin City Limits stage for the very first time on that brisk January day in 1978, Merle Haggard was at the top of his game. It had been over a decade since his first national hit ‘Sing A Sad Song’ and not that long after ‘Okie from Muskogee’ had firmly planted his music in the public consciousness. He had already been declared Entertainer Of The Year by both the Country Music Awards and Academy of Country Music in the same year (1970). He had just released ‘A Tribute to the Best Damn Fiddle Player in the World (Or My Salute to Bob Wills)’, which sparked a revival of interest in western swing and with his band, The Strangers, it’s no stretch to say that he had the best live show in country music of his day. 


This is Merle Haggard’s very first Austin City Limits performance, recorded in January 1978 and released on vinyl for the first time. 


    1. Working Man Can’t Get Nowhere Today
    2. Silver Wings
    3. Lonesome Fugitive
    4. Sing Me Back Home
    5. Orange Blossom Special
    6. Old-Fashioned Love
    7. Brain Cloudy Blues
    8. Ramblin’ Fever
    9. Long Black Limosine
    10. Cherokee Maiden
    11. San Antonio Rose
    12. Misery
    13. The Farmers Daughter
    14. Workin’ Man Blues
Contact Us:

Rival Records Limited,

43 Bridge Street



EX20 3HZ

Send Us a Message
  • White Twitter Icon
  • googlemybusiness
  • White Facebook Icon

Registered Office: Rival Records Ltd, 3 Spennithorne Drive, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS16 6HT

Company Registration No: 8462961     Registered in England and Wales