A culmination of life and musical experience, uncompromising in its vision, ‘Stonechild’, the new studio album from Jesca Hoop, is a self- described “compassion project.”


Released by Memphis Industries, ‘Stonechild’ is Hoop refined and defined. Beautiful, subtle and stark, her fifth album, the follow up to 2017’s highly acclaimed ‘Memories Are Now’, is her best yet.


Despite being a long-term resident of Manchester, Hoop has, until now, returned to her native California to record. This time round however, “it was time to step out of my comfort zone, my safe place,” venturing south to Bristol to team up with producer John Parish (PJ Harvey, Aldous Harding, This Is The Kit). Parish’s minimal and purist approach helped clarify Hoop in her ideas and subtly yet effectively realigning her sound. The simplified arrangements draw focus to the fundamental sophistication of the songs.


While Hoop’s trademark finger-plucked guitar and ethereal textures remain, the songs and their presentation are ever more direct. Parish “was a gentle collaborator until he killed one of my darlings,” Hoop jests. “I’ve never been so brutally edited, and I wasn’t shy about expressing my discomfort at the sight of my work on the cutting room floor. He said, you will forgive me, and in some way, I think I actually enjoyed that treatment… being stripped back to the bare basics… albeit painfully.”


‘Stonechild’ ventures further into fresh territory with other voices joining the narrative, with Kate Stables (aka This Is The Kit) Rozi Plain and Lucius singing the choruses and expanding the sensual depth of the sonic bloom.


‘Stonechild’, Hoop says, is intended to “wrap its arms around our human planet spinning in its increasingly precarious wobble.” These rich and curious songs derived from themes of our troubled times speak Hoop’s heart and mind from her empathetic yet tough loving centre point. With writing so fluid, so natural the result is an album where everything is truly meant.


Available to independent retailers on white and black coloured vinyl with digital download code.


    1. Free Of The Feeling (Ft Lucius)
    2. Shoulder Charge (Ft Lucius)
    3. Old Fear Of Father
    4. Footfall To The Path
    5. Death Row
    6. Red White And Black
    7. 01 Tear
    8. All Time Low
    9. Outside Of Eden (Ft Kate Stables And Justis)
    10. Passage's End
    11. Time Capsule
Contact Us:

Rival Records Limited,

43 Bridge Street



EX20 3HZ

Send Us a Message
  • White Twitter Icon
  • googlemybusiness
  • White Facebook Icon

Registered Office: Rival Records Ltd, 3 Spennithorne Drive, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS16 6HT

Company Registration No: 8462961     Registered in England and Wales