Recorded during time spent in upstate New York with Dave Fridmann, the five songs that make up ‘A Fine Mess’ gradually emerged as a body of work with a narrative and flow unto itself. The title track, the BBC 6 Music-playlisted ‘Fine Mess’, then received further production from Kaines and Tom A.D. and mixing from Claudius Mittendorfer, who had first worked with Interpol as engineer on ‘Our Love To Admire’.


The resulting set is a living, breathing postcard from the band to their fans as they tour the world throughout 2019 and a linear continuation of the visceral and contagious energy set loose with ‘Marauder’.


Echoing its title, the artwork for ‘A Fine Mess’ is illustrated by a series of lost images, recovered from an abandoned police station in Detroit, MI. Amongst the rubble in a crumbling evidence room an undeveloped roll of film, dated ‘1-20-96’, featured latent images of a breaking and entering scene, the rooms in chaos.


From the beguiling refrain of the title track, to the soulful topsy-turvy of ‘No Big Deal’, cathartic chorus of long sought-after live favourite ‘Real Life’, anthemic swell of ‘The Weekend’ and angular shades of ‘Thrones’, ‘A Fine Mess’ is a bracing and distinct entry in Interpol’s oeuvre.


    1. Fine Mess
    2. No Big Deal
    3. Real Life
    4. The Weekend
    5. Thrones