Frengers is the third album by Danish band Mew, originally released in 2003. The title is a portmanteau of the words friend and stranger. A frenger is a person who is "not quite a friend but not quite a stranger" according to the album's accompanying information.


The song "Her Voice Is Beyond Her Years" features vocals from Swedish singer Stina Nordenstam and "Symmetry" features vocals from 13-year-old Georgia Becky Jarrett.


The band had their first major commercial success with Frengers, described as "a work of quiet brilliance, aiming for the epic without straying into the bombastic, offering cerebral arrangements while keeping things accessible." The album was well received. After a European tour supporting R.E.M. they began to attract wider attention.


Whilst their music may be classified as indie and on occasion progressive rock, a band member previously stated "I usually say we are 'indie stadium.' A mix between 'feelings' and 'thinking' is usually good."


    1. Am I Wry? No
    2. 156
    3. Snow Brigade
    4. Symmetry
    5. Behind The Drapes
    6. Her Voice Is Beyond Her Years
    7. Eight Flew Over, One Was Destroyed
    8. She Came Home For Christmas
    9. She Spider
    10. Comforting Sounds