Recorded in late 1964 and produced by Teo Macero, Solo Monk is the 8th album Thelonious Monk released for Columbia Records. As the title implies, this album consists purely of Monk's solo piano playing. He handles classic Pop standards like "Dinah" and "Sweet And Lovely", but beautifully executes his own compositions like the bluesy "North Of The Sunset", "Ruby, My Dear" and "Monk's Point". If there is any album to own by Thelonious Monk, Solo Monk is clearly it.


    1. Dinah
    2. I Surrender, Dear
    3. Sweet And Lovely
    4. North Of The Sunset
    5. Ruby, My Dear
    6. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)      
    7. I Hadn't Any One Till You
    8. Everything Happens To Me
    9. Monk's Point
    10. I Should Care
    11. Ask Me Now
    12. These Foolish Things (Remind Me Of You)
Contact Us:

Rival Records Limited,

43 Bridge Street



EX20 3HZ

Send Us a Message
  • White Twitter Icon
  • googlemybusiness
  • White Facebook Icon

Registered Office: Rival Records Ltd, 3 Spennithorne Drive, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS16 6HT

Company Registration No: 8462961     Registered in England and Wales