Mecca And The Soul Brother from 1992 is considered by fans and critics as one of the finesthip hop albums of the early 90s. Songs like "Lots of Lovin", "They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)","Anger In The Nation" and "It It Ain't Rough, It Ain't Right" have everything; funky basslines, solid production, convincing lyrics and lots of soul. Producer Pete Rock built his beats from obscure R&B, funk and jazz records and CL Smooth added his sometimes philosophical raps. 


Guest rappers on the album include Grand Puba (of Brand Nubian), Heavy D, Rob-O, Grap & Dida, and it reached #7 in the US R&B/Hip-hop charts and #43 in the US album charts. 


Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth stopped working together in 1995 after finishing their follow-up album The Main Ingredient Rumor has it that the duo will be reuniting for a brand new album.


    1. Return Of The Mecca
    2. For Pete's Sake
    3. Ghettos Of The Mind
    4. Lots Of Lovin
    5. Act Like You Know  
    6. Straighten It Out
    7. Soul Brother #1
    8. Wig Out
    9. Anger In The Nation
    10. They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)
    11. On And On
    12. It's Like That
    13. Can't Front On Me
    14. The Creator (Remix) Bonus Track     
    15. Mecca And The Soul Brother (Remix) Bonus Track
    16. The Basement (Featuring Heavy D., Rob-O, Grap & Dida)
    17. If It Ain't Rough, It Ain't Right
    18. Skinz (Featuring Grand Puba)
Contact Us:

Rival Records Limited,

43 Bridge Street



EX20 3HZ

Send Us a Message
  • White Twitter Icon
  • googlemybusiness
  • White Facebook Icon

Registered Office: Rival Records Ltd, 3 Spennithorne Drive, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS16 6HT

Company Registration No: 8462961     Registered in England and Wales