It was the one and only Arthur “Duke” Reid who brought the Jamaican music scene to a higher level by perfecting the recording quality day by day. By the time and effort, he put in producing he created some of the most important Trojan releases. The wonderful compilation Soul of Jamaica consists of music recorded in 1968 by some of the top-notch musicians who were available for the recording sessions. Duke had Tommy McCook and the Supersonics, led by the Ex-Skatalite saxophone king and featuring teenage drumming sensation Paul Douglas and bassman Jackie Jackson among others. The vocal stars on this record are Alton Ellis and the Paragons, some of the well-known musicians from that time. This is another fantastic compilation by the Duke.


Soul of Jamaica is available as a limited edition of 750 individually numbered copies on orange coloured vinyl.


    1. Joya Landis - Angel Of The Morning
    2. Alton Ellis - My Willow Tree
    3. Tommy Mccook & The Supersonics - Heatwave (Moving)
    4. Joya Landis - Out De Light
    5. The Paragons - My Best Girl
    6. Tommy Mccook & The Supersonics - The World Needs Love        
    7. Alton Ellis - I Can't Stand It
    8. Phyllis Dillon - Long Time (Aka Nice Time)
    9. Tommy Mccook & The Supersonics - Ride Me Donkey
    10. Alton Ellis & Phyllis Dillon - Love Letters
    11. The Jamaicans - Woman Go Home
    12. Tommy Mccook & The Supersonics - Flying Home
Contact Us:

Rival Records Limited,

43 Bridge Street



EX20 3HZ

Send Us a Message
  • White Twitter Icon
  • googlemybusiness
  • White Facebook Icon

Registered Office: Rival Records Ltd, 3 Spennithorne Drive, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS16 6HT

Company Registration No: 8462961     Registered in England and Wales