Mother Earth is the first album by the Dutch metal band Within Temptation. Featuring Sharon den Adel as the only vocalist the direction of the band changed from their doomy sound from the former EPs to a more symphonic style. The title song opens with a beautiful orchestral melody before powerful drumming and guitar riffs pumping in. "Ice Queen" reached number one in both the Netherlands and Belgium. With its prominent string arrangement and lyrical content it was a fine song in the early zero's. Overall Mother Earth is an emotive and thoughtful collection of musical ideas overridden by some impressive vocal expressions.


The Dutch symphonic metal band Within Temptation was founded in 1996 by vocalist Sharon den Adel and guitarist Robert Westerholt. After their first recordings in the doom metal they were developing their music to a more accessible symphonic style, becoming known to the worldwide public.


    1. Mother Earth
    2. Ice Queen
    3. Our Farewell
    4. Caged
    5. The Promise
    6. Never-Ending Story
    7. Deceiver Of Fools
    8. Intro (Instrumental)
    9. Dark Wings
    10. In Perfect Harmony
    11. Deceiver Of Fools (Live) Bonus Track
    12. Caged (Live) Bonus Track
    13. Candles (Live) Bonus Track
    14. Ice Queen (Live) Bonus Track