Songs For Judy is the debut release on Shakey Pictures Records, Young’s own imprint distributed by Reprise Records. Songs For Judy is thoroughly engaging collection of live acoustic performances culled from Neil's November 1976 solo tour and features twenty-two songs recorded at various cities along the tour. This song cycle of live recordings is particularly powerful and unique. Young had spent much of the year traveling around the world on tour with Crazy Horse. When touring on his own, he recharged and focused on songs that would not surface in recorded form for several years. Of the albums many treasures, "No One Seems To Know" would not see the light of day until now and it remains unreleased in any other iteration.


The raw versions of the tracks found on Songs For Judy reflect an artist completely unvarnished and unafraid to allow the songs to breath and to find their own shape when performed in a solo setting. Songs written in that era would come into focus and then seemingly disappear only to re-enter Young's orbit somewhere down the road. "White Line" and "Give Me Strength" are such examples of finding the light in 1990 and 2017 respectively. It's also fascinating to hear Young revisit early gems such as Springfield's "Mr. Soul" ('67), "Here We Are In The Years" ('68), and "The Losing End" ('69) from some of his earliest solo recordings which remain as timeless as ever.


    1. Songs For Judy (Intro)
    2. Too Far Gone
    3. No One Seems To Know
    4. Heart Of Gold
    5. White Line
    6. Love Is A Rose
    7. After The Gold Rush
    8. Human Highway
    9. Tell Me Why
    10. Mr. Soul
    11. Mellow My Mind
    12. Give Me Strength
    13. A Man Needs A Maid
    14. Roll Another Number
    15. Journey Through The Past
    16. Harvest
    17. Campaigner
    18. Old Laughing Lady
    19. The Losing End
    20. Here We Are In The Years
    21. The Needle And The Damage Done
    22. Pocahontas
    23. Sugar Mountain
Contact Us:

Rival Records Limited,

43 Bridge Street



EX20 3HZ

Send Us a Message
  • White Twitter Icon
  • googlemybusiness
  • White Facebook Icon

Registered Office: Rival Records Ltd, 3 Spennithorne Drive, Leeds, West Yorkshire LS16 6HT

Company Registration No: 8462961     Registered in England and Wales