top of page

The debut album by the American singer/songwriter, originally released in February 1997. After leaving university in order to concentrate on music full-time, Badu then began touring with her cousin, Robert 'Free' Bradford, and recorded a 19-song demo, 'Country Cousins', which attracted the attention of Kedar Massenburg. He set Badu up to record a duet with D'Angelo, 'Your Precious Love,' and eventually signed her to a record deal with Universal Records. Recording sessions for the album took place from January to October 1996 in New York City, Philadelphia, and Dallas. Features the singles 'On & On', 'Next Lifetime', 'Otherside of the Game' and 'Appletree'.




    1. Rim Shot (Intro)
    2. On and On 
    3. Appletree
    4. Other Side Of The Game
    5. Sometimes (Mix #9)
    6. Next Lifetime
    7. Afro (Freestyle Skit)
    8. Certainly
    9. 4 Leaf Clover
    10. No Love
    11. Drama
    12. Sometimes
    13. Certainly (Flipped It)
    14. Rim Shot (Outro)
bottom of page