top of page

A complex and sometimes belligerent character in real life, on record, John Martyn was the epitome of the folk-dreamer, embodying the spirit of the bourgeoning London acoustic scene of the late '60s. Well-known and respected for his '70s albums 'Solid Air' and 'One World', this is where it began. Produced by fellow London scenester Al Stewart, 'The Tumbler' was a huge step forward, presenting Martyn as the questing soul he would become; yet, for the abstraction of 'The Gardeners', there was the simple folk ditty of 'Fishin' Blues'. With the exemplary flute playing of Harold McNair, 'Fly On Home' is clear in its infuence on Martyn's peer, Nick Drake. 'Knuckeldy Crunch' and 'Slippledee-Slee Song' demonstrates what would have happened if Syd Barrett had gone folk. 'The Tumbler' can be viewed also as the beginning of Martyn's slurred vocal style and sweet sentiment that was to chime with thousands of his aficionados in the UK.




    1. Sing A Song Of Summer
    2. The River
    3. Goin' Down To Memphis
    4. The Gardeners
    5. A Day At The Sea
    6. Fishin' Blues
    7. Dusty
    8. Hello Train
    9. Winding Boy
    10. Fly On Home
    11. Knuckeldy Crunch/Slippledee-Slee Song
    12. Seven Black Roses
bottom of page