Sepultura was founded in 1983 by the brothers Max and Iggor Cavalera with Wagner Lamounier and Jairo Guedes. Paulo Xisto Pinto Jr. joined just a few short months later and in 1987, with the departure of Jairo and addition of guitarist Andreas Kisser, the solid line up of Sepultura was final. The band quickly became an influential force in heavy metal music thanks to its dynamic studio recordings and intense live performances, selling nearly 20 million albums worldwide. Three years after 'Chaos AD', the band returned with 'Roots', an album that was deeply influenced by Brazilian rhythms, which were incorporated into tracks like 'Itsari' and 'Ratamahatta'. Since its release in 1996, the album has sold more than two million copies worldwide. This expanded edition of the album features a newly-remastered version of the original album, plus 17 bonus tracks. Standouts include demos for 'Dusted' and 'Roots Bloody Roots', instrumental versions of 'Dictatorshit' and 'Cut-throat', a version of 'Attitude' recorded live at Ozzfest, and the unreleased first take of 'Kaiowas'.


  • Original Album

    1. Roots Bloody Roots
    2. Attitude
    3. Cut-Throat
    4. Ratamahatta
    5. Breed Apart
    6. Straighthate
    7. Spit
    8. Lookaway
    9. Dusted
    10. Born Stubborn
    11. Jasco
    12. Itsári
    13. Ambush
    14. Endangered Species
    15. Dictatorshit

    Bonus Tracks

    1. Ratamahatta – 2 Meter Sessions
    2. Roots Bloody Roots – 2 Meter Sessions
    3. Attitude – 2 Meter Sessions
    4. Kaiowas – Take One 
    5. Procreation (Of The Wicked)
    6. Roots Bloody Roots – Demo
    7. Attitude – Instrumental
    8. Cutthroat – Instrumental
    9. Dictatorshit – Instrumental
    10. Untitled – Demo
    11. R.D.P. – Demo
    12. Dusted – Demo